Queen's Park vs Aberdeen - Preview

Last updated : 21 August 2006 By Andyboy
Queen's Park play against Scottish Premier League side Aberdeen at Partick Thistle's Firhill Stadium, tomorrow night. The Dons make their trip to Maryhill due to a Rolling Stones concert at Hampden preventing the match taking place there.

Jimmy Calderwood's side are unbeaten so far in the SPL, but sit 7th, due to a record of three draws and one win, their last game at St Mirren on Saturday afternoon, finished 1-1. Former Scotland striker Stevie Crawford scoring the Aberdeen goal. Their one win so far came against bottom club Motherwell, who were beaten 2-0 on the 12th of August.

Calderwood led The Reds to a top six finish last season, and near the end they were pushing for fourth place as they made a strong finish to the 2005/2006 season.

The last meeting of the sides was in front of a crowd of 2021 at Hampden back in the League Cup 2nd Round of the 1996/97 season. Steven Glass and Dean Windass grabbing the goals near the end of each half for the Dons side as Spiders were put to the sword.

Suspended duo Mark Ferry and Richard Sinclair could return after serving their bans against Dumbarton on Saturday. Tommy Murray (ankle ligaments) is still ruled out, while Steven Reilly who played through the pain barrier on Saturday is to have a fitness test along with Shaun Molloy, Robert Dunn and Frankie Carroll.

Aberdeen are without star centre back Zander Diamond who is suspended after being sent off in last year's quarter final against Motherwell. Also out are Karim Touzani, Jamie Langfield, Richie Byrne, Steve Lovell, Scott Severin and Michael Hart.

Saturday 12th August - Elgin City 1 - 2 Queen's Park - Third Division
Tuesday 15th August - East Stirling 0 - 5 Queen's Park - Chall. Cup 1st Rd
Saturday 19th August - Queen's Park 1 - 0 Dumbarton - Third Division

Saturday 5th August - Aberdeen 1 - 1 Inverness CT - Scottish Premier
Saturday 12th August - Motherwell 0 - 2 Aberdeen - Scottish Premier
Saturday 19th August - St Mirren 1 - 1 Aberdeen - Scottish Premier

David Crawford, Paul Paton, Mick Dunlop, Stephen Reilly, Richard Sinclair, Stephen Canning, Stuart Kettlewell, Tony Quinn, Paul Ronald, David Weatherston, Mark Ferry

SUBS: Mark Cairns (gk), Alan Trouten, Damiano Agostini, Jonny Whelan, Richard Bowers